top of page

My Very First Hostel Experience in Malang

Are you familiar with hotel? I think everyone knows it. But, what if I say Hostel, instead of Hotel? Yup, it's hostel. I'm not adding "s" letter between because that's the right one.


Actually, Hostel is one kind of places to stay. Hostel is very familiar for western traveller because in Europe, hostel is easy to find. In Indonesia, if we said Hostel, some people may look confused because most Indonesians know Hotel, instead of Hostel. It's different when it comes to some people who have travelled to many parts of the world, especially the backpacker.


My first "date" with hostel was started about two years ago. I was joining an open trip to Malang and Batu, then I extended my stay in Malang in different place (Other people in the open trip group returned back to their own home by train from Malang). I love to stay a little bit longer every time I join a trip, anywhere. Why? Simply just because I need to take a rest longer and I could have a sightseeing around the city.


Here is Butik Capsule Hostel. Located in the middle of Malang, one of the most well-known tourist destination in East Java, Indonesia. Why I choose hostel instead hotel? First, I spent my holiday trip in Malang alone. Though I was joining an open trip with some people in it, but they didn't stay longer in Malang as I did. I think Hostel is the best choice for single traveller as me. Second, the price is cheap. Hostel is always cheaper than Hotel (exception if the Hotel is having a promo or discount). As a single low budget traveller, Hostel is the best choice than staying in a pricy Hotel.

Signage and Facade of Butik Capsule Hostel

I knew Butik Capsule Hostel when I was looking for a place for staying in Malang. I knew it from Booking.com, Traveloka, and of course from Trip Advisor. The first thing I'm really interested is with the price. It's very cheap and affordable. Just around Rp120.000,00 for a night (I booked it via Traveloka). I also checked the reviews from people who had been staying there and most of them give nice testimonials. Great! When I arrived there, I was quite surprised because the hostel is located at the ruko/shophouse. But something different when I entered the door, WOWWWW it's cozy, comfortable, cold, and hey it's unique. With its fancy wall decoration, pictures. and furnitures make this hostel become my favourite one. The bedroom itself is like in a dormitory, just separated by curtain and that's not bad. This why we don't quickly judge the book from its cover. The interior says it all!

Dinning Room and Office Corner of Butik Capsule Hostel

The Toilet and Shower Area in Butik Capsule Hostel

This is my very first time staying in this kind of place. The wifi is good and fast (faster than my own in my house), the air-conditioner was cold and I couldn't resist (I am not a typical person who loves cold weather, I'd rather be on the beach). The bathroom is clean and separated with the toilet. The hostel management also give us free breakfast, free wifi, free towel, free soap, free shampoo, free drink, but we have to pay/rent the blanket (It's just Rp10.000,00-Rp15.000,00).

Instagrammable and Photogenic Bedroom in Dormitory Area of Butik Capsule Hostel

The location is just beside the road and easily accessible. Just by an one way angkot from Malang station (ADL), then you will reach and arrive at this hostel safe.

The people staying here also give the warm athmosphere. The owner is very nice and informative. I spend much hours talking with him. Oh my God, why I forgot his name? I'm sorry sir :p The staff is also nice and easy going. We'd been talking together for 3 hours maybe hahaha... They also gave me some information about public transportation (angkot) in Malang so I won't get lost while I was taking a city tour alone. They are very helpful and nice. God bless you both :)

Local and Foreigner Visitors Chit-Chat Together in Dinning Area

I love meeting new people here. I met Local and Foreigner Travellers from Bali, UK, and Italy. Although my English is not good enough, but I'm glad because I could practice my English with a few of foreigner travellers. I give my warm greetings for Nathan, who met me on 31st January 2016 in this hostel. Do you still remember me? I hope you still and enjoy your trip dude! :) Til we meet again dude!

All I can say is just plan your next trip to Malang and book the room at this hostel. You'll never be disappointed. I think I'm gonna stay again at this place if I visit Malang again someday. Bon Voyage everyone :D


Butik Capsule Hostel

Location : Jl. WR Supratman 2L, Malang, East Java, Indonesia

Office : +62 341 368 278

WA : +62 81 336 851 515

E-mail : butikcapsulehostel@yahoo.com

Instagram : @butikcapsule

Price : IDR 108.000


bottom of page